Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim, Arunachal assembly election dates announced | India News


NEW DELHI: The election commission on Saturday announced the poll dates for assembly election 4 states – Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim.
Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will be held on April 19, and in Andhra Pradesh on May 13.
Elections to Odisha assembly will be held in four phases on May 13, May 20, May 25 and June 1. The results for all four states will be announced on June 4, the same day when the Lok Sabha poll results will also be declared.
The EC also announced the dates for Lok Sabha elections which will be held in seven phases.Voting for the first phase of polls will be held on April 19 and will cover 102 Lok Sabha seats. The second phase voting will be held on April 26 for 89 seats and the third phase on May 7 for 94 seats. The fourth phase voting will be on May 13 for 96 seats and 5th phase on May 20 for 49 seats. The 6th and the 7th phase of voting will be held on May 25 and June 1 respectively for 57 seats each.
Bypolls will also be held for 26 assembly constituencies, chief election commissioner Rajeev Kumar said at a press conference flanked by two new Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu.
With the announcement of the dates, the model mode of conduct comes into immediate effect.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *